doglairbarks

The Bad Glazier

leave a comment »

The Bad Glazier

by Charles Baudelaire 

. . . . . One morning I got up in a bad temper, sad, tired of idleness, and impelled, it seemed to me, to do something big, a brilliant action; and I opened the win- dow. Alas!

The first person that I saw in the street was a gla- zier whose piercing and discordant cry came up to me through the heavy and contaminated atmosphere of Paris. It would be utterly impossible for me ever to tell you why I was suddenly seized with a hatred, as sudden as it was despotic, against the poor man.

“Hullo, hullo,” I cried to him to come up. At the same time I reflected, not without some amusement, that my room being on the sixth story, and the staircase extremely narrow, that the man was bound to find it rather difficult to make the ascent, and to catch in many a place the corners of his merchandise.

At last he appeared. Having examined all his glasses with curiosity, I said to him: “What, you have no colored glasses?—Rose glasses, red glasses, blue glasses, magic glasses, glasses of Paradise! You impudent fel- low; you dare to walk about in the poor quarters of the town, and you have not even glasses which make life look beautiful!” And I pushed him vigorously towards the staircase, where he stumbled and swore.

I went to the balcony and seized a little flower-pot; and when the man reappeared in the doorway I let fall my engine of war on the back edge of his shoulder straps, and the shock overthrowing him, he broke be- neath his back all his poor walking stock in trade, which

uttered the crashing cry of a glass palace split by light- ning.

And, drunk with my madness I cried to him furi- ously: “Let life look beautiful, let life look beautiful!” 

Written by secondcousin

August 24, 2012 at 5:26 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

